Ask Ghamidi

A Community Driven Discussion Portal
To Ask, Answer, Share And Learn

Forums Forums Sources of Islam Ignorance Of Hazrat Nooh A.S.?

Tagged: , ,

• Ignorance Of Hazrat Nooh A.S.?

Posted by Danish Ju on October 4, 2020 at 12:41 pm

I would like to refer Sura-e-Hud verses 46-47 in which Allah warns to Hazrat Nooh A.S that “So ask Me not of what you do not know. I warn you not to be one of the ignorant.” And Hazrat Nooh A.S replied to Allah “Preserve me, O Lord, from asking you that of which I have no knowledge.” My question is that what fact was not known to Hazrat Nooh A.S. about that son? Did he really not aware of the conduct and character of the son?

Ahmad Shoaib replied 3 years, 6 months ago 5 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Ignorance Of Hazrat Nooh A.S.?

Ahmad Shoaib updated 3 years, 6 months ago 5 Members · 9 Replies
  • Umer

Moderator October 4, 2020 at 2:47 pm

I see it somewhat of a similar reminder by Allah:

It is not for the Prophet, and those who believe, to pray for the forgiveness of idolaters even though they may be near of kin (to them) after it has become clear that they are people of hell fire. The prayer of Abraham for the forgiveness of his father was only because of a promise he had promised him, but when it had become clear to him that he (his father) was an enemy to Allah he (Abraham) disowned him. Lo! Abraham was soft of heart, lone suffering. [9:113-114]

Because at the very end of verse 46, it is being said to Nuh (AS) to not be overwhelmed with emotions (because decision of Azab based on itmam-e-hujjah is solely a decision based on Allah’s ilm).

• Danish Ju

Member October 8, 2020 at 12:14 pm

Then what will be the literal translation of the first part of verse 46 which says

“يَا نُوحُ إِنَّهُ لَيْسَ مِنْ أَهْلِكَ ۖ إِنَّهُ عَمَلٌ غَيْرُ صَالِحٍ ۖ

I request not to use any within bracket comments, just the translation please

• Faisal Haroon

Moderator October 8, 2020 at 1:00 pm

Ghamidi sahab translation: