Ask Ghamidi

A Community Driven Discussion Portal
To Ask, Answer, Share And Learn

Forums Forums Youth and Islam Disassociating Oneself From The Muslim Identity Because Of Sectarianism

• Disassociating Oneself From The Muslim Identity Because Of Sectarianism

Posted by Sameer Namole on June 12, 2022 at 7:53 am

Hello sir, I’m an indian muslim. I started practicing atheism at the age of 13-14 when I was fed up of certain wrongdoings in the name of religion specially, Islam. At that time civil wars etc were happening in middle east countries and those people used to spread videos of their mass killings in the name of religion, on social media. So in that perplexity, I left Islam as a teen. But when I didn’t get answers for some obvious questions about life, I started to reconsider religions. I read some islamic books and quran, and I started reading bible and geeta too as I was influenced by them since childhood. I found and I still observe this that most people, particularly muslims don’t follow their deen. After I’ve accepted islam I’ve always eager to study different interpretations of it. I went from barelvi to deobandi jamati school of thoughts and from there I followed an Allama and now I find Ghamidi sahab’s arguments strong and appealing. But the problam with me is that I left islam because of muslims which I consider most risky decision of my life and until now I have many light and dilute disputes (politely from my side) with muslims over islam. In short I’m still not emotionally proud or anything like that to attach myself to muslim community. And over past some years, muslims are continuing their collective negative mindset about goverment and other communities like only all of them are responsible for their current state. First the 3 Talaq issue, then Babri mosque, then NRC CAA issue, killings of animals other religions consider as sacred, and these events seems to be suddenly growing exponentially. In this year we’ve had hijab row, another alleged mandi