Ask Ghamidi

A Community Driven Discussion Portal
To Ask, Answer, Share And Learn

Forums Forums Islamic Sharia Filmmaking In Islam

Tagged: , , ,

• Filmmaking In Islam

Posted by Deleted User 6354 on November 4, 2022 at 4:27 am

I am an aspiring filmmaker and I have a question

1- I would like to make short films and since musical instruments are haram in islam, I dont want to use songs in my videos.

Is it okay to use instrumental music ? It’s required to initiate/put emphasis on a scene (for example suspense scenes). Also instrumental music can help retain audience attention and make the scene more engaging and thought provoking.

Using instrumental music along with sound effects (glass breaking, wind sound, waves crashing and etc), is it haram ?

Jazak Allah

Dr. Irfan Shahzad replied 1 year, 5 months ago 3 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • Filmmaking In Islam

Dr. Irfan Shahzad updated 1 year, 5 months ago 3 Members · 8 Replies
  • Ahsan

Moderator November 4, 2022 at 11:20 am

Music is not inherently haram. For details please see:

Discussion 1150

Discussion 39704

• Deleted User 6354

Member November 4, 2022 at 5:54 pm

Jazak Allah

Another question is that if there are females in my films (not covering their head), is it a sin for me ? Even though I didn’t say so and they are doing it of their own free will (not covering their head with scarf)

Will I be punished in my grave if people watch my films after I die because of this?

• Ahsan

Moderator November 5, 2022 at 9:55 am

@Irfan76 sb can give better response to that

• Dr. Irfan Shahzad

Scholar November 6, 2022 at 10:17 pm

Quran asks to dress in a decent way to cover Satr: The private body parts. Head is not supposed to be a private body part. So Islam does not ask to cover it. This is the culture that tells what is considered decent in dressing.