Ask Ghamidi

A Community Driven Discussion Portal
To Ask, Answer, Share And Learn

Forums Forums Islamic Sharia Working In An LGBTQ Company As A Software Engineer

• Working In An LGBTQ Company As A Software Engineer

Posted by Sarim Khan on July 3, 2024 at 10:40 am

Assalamualaikum.

I need to know the Islamic ruling about working in a company which makes dating app for the LGBTQ community.

The scenario is, I am a software engineer/ website developer and I am getting a job offer from an LGBTQ based company. My role here is to create a “dating website” which will be used by “Gay people” to connect with each other and date each other.

Is it allowed for me to do job here?

If it is allowed, then please also explain why, in context of that I am indirectly supporting the community with my work.

Kindly answer as soon as possible because I have less time remaining.

Thanks

Saad replied 2 months, 3 weeks ago 3 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • Working In An LGBTQ Company As A Software Engineer

Saad updated 2 months, 3 weeks ago 3 Members · 8 Replies
  • Dr. Irfan Shahzad

Scholar July 3, 2024 at 6:46 pm

If you are directly hired by the company to make a software like the above then it is not allowed, however, if you develop a website for people to interact, and the said company purchased it then it is not your responsibility who use it for what purpose.

• Sarim Khan

Member July 3, 2024 at 7:12 pm

@irfan76
    Thanks for the quick reply Dr Irfan.
    I have seen some videos of Ghamidi Sahab where he says that it is allowed to work in an alcohol shop, isn’t my scenario related?
    The person in the alcohol shop is actually helping others to do a haram thing, the same my job is demanding.

What is the difference and why one is halal and the other is not?

I am asking many questions to satisfy my thoughts.

Thanks again for the quick reply.

• Dr. Irfan Shahzad

Scholar July 4, 2024 at 12:40 am