Ask Ghamidi

A Community Driven Discussion Portal
To Ask, Answer, Share And Learn

Forums Forums Islamic Sharia Freelancing Work Involving Objectonable Buisnesses

Tagged: , ,

• Freelancing Work Involving Objectonable Buisnesses

Posted by Amin Ansar on October 14, 2023 at 9:13 am

I work as a freelancer and it is pretty easy and stress-free for me to figure out and neglect projects that are haram on their own, for example, designing a bad type of dating app, a website that sells alcohol etc. And most projects, like 90% don’t fall in to this category on being haram.

But, every single project that I work on, has some kind of haram element in it, and it causes so much stress that when I finally get a project that on its own is not haram but there is a haram element in it, such as a website for a hotel but they have pork and alcohol included in their offerings. In this case, I could ask the client to not make me work on those particular parts but then client goes running away or even if he doesn’t may eventually get frustrated by all those requests to not work on haram elements. Especially problematic when I am thinking of getting married and getting a steady job because in that case losing a job would be harmful even if I have some money saved there is no guarantee if I will get a job if I leave it. And I think these are shaitan’s waswas and he just wants me to start selling dates on streets giving reasonings that this is a test on me that I should leave high paying easy jobs and start doing low paying hard jobs to stay safe.