Ask Ghamidi

A Community Driven Discussion Portal
To Ask, Answer, Share And Learn

Forums Forums Sources of Islam Most Accurate Translation Of The Quran

Tagged: ,

• Most Accurate Translation Of The Quran

Posted by Abdullah Zeeshan on February 4, 2023 at 5:51 pm

My intention is to study The Qur’an and I am following the advice given by Ghamidi Sahab where he said that in the first round we should take a simple translation of The Qur’an and study it with a clear mind without any biases or influences, later on indulging in Tafseers.

The choice of the translation is subjective to the person and my criteria is to get a translation which closely resembles with the words of The Qur’an in its originality. I have observed within the translations I browsed that the meaning is lost here and there and is not in its original form (I am no expert but just my observation as a layman).

For example: the word “متقین” literally means “the one who acquires Taqwa” which is translated as “the one who fears God” instead of its original meaning , where Taqwa is considered as being fearful, which is just one interpretation of acquiring Taqwa.

So I am in search of such a translation.

Thanks in advance.

Abdullah Zeeshan replied 1 year, 2 months ago 4 Members · 11 Replies
  • 11 Replies
  • Most Accurate Translation Of The Quran

Abdullah Zeeshan updated 1 year, 2 months ago 4 Members · 11 Replies
  • Ahsan

Moderator February 5, 2023 at 8:58 am

To understand the word in context, you cannot simply take just dictionary meaning. It depends on the use of those people in the conversation.
    Refer to the following threads for a better understanding of the point.

Discussion 57731

Discussion 44668

Discussion 53061 • Reply 53070

• Ahsan

Moderator February 5, 2023 at 9:03 am